It’s Stripe-tac-ular!

(sung to the tune of 007’s theme song) Stripe’s, Stripe’s, Stripe’s

FO: Stripe-tac-ular

Stripe’s, stripe’s, stripe’s

FO: strip-tac-ular

Stripe’s, Stripe’s, Stripe’s

FO: Stripe-tac-ular

striiiiiipppppppeeeeee’s!

FO: Stripe-tac-ular!

(don’t worry, I’m starting to think that there is something seriously wrong with my brain too. Who else looks at this sweater and starts humming 007’s theme song and thinking stripes in there head?)

onto the good stuff, I *think* I figured out the whole top down raglan shaping thing! It took me a bit to figure it all out (like what 8 months I’ve been thinking about it?), and a bit of head hurting too. I measured where I wanted the sweater to fall on my neck 21″ and then I multiplied it by my gauge (4.5) and then fudged the number so it was divisible by 3 (CO 96sts). Why three? Cause the front and back are each one third, and the sleeves are half of a third. (Make sense?) I have no idea why it took me so long to figure it out. But after I finished the green tweed it totally clicked and I’m thrilled. (If only I had this much time in geometry, I probably woulda gotten a B!) Anyway, I knit 8 rows of k2, p2 then knit one row with the MC (white). Placed raglan markers as follows 16(sleeve)pm, 32 (back)pm, 16 (sleeve)pm 32 (front) eor marker. Next row increase using MC by knitting to 2 sts before each marker kfb, k1, sm, k1 kfb. around. Next row change color using stationary jogless stripes technique. Increased on 2nd row, not on color change row.  I kept increasing until the sweater was just under my arms, put the sleeves on hold, and CO 8 sts for underarms. Added a bit of waist shaping and Finished body with 2” of k2, p2 ribbing BO in pattern.  Now onto the sleeves. I wasn’t sure if I had enough yarn. So, I split the last ball in half, I had a little bit leftover from the body which I used some of on the sleeves.  Anyway I picked up the 8sts casted on for underarm, decreased every 1.5 down to 34 sts for cuff then knit one row before starting the ribbing. K2, p2 for 16 rows before binding off in pattern. See where I screwed up a bit and added a “design element”? There are two sets of 3 rows of the noro on both sleeves. I didn’t discover I did this on the first sleeve until I started the cuff. I kinda like it, and wasn’t about to rip it out. Mostly because the mohair in the yarn was starting to bother my hands. And now all my stash that has mohair in it is up for sale or trade here on the blog or on ravelry. Funny, cause the finished sweater doesn’t seem to bother me…. much…. I’ve worn it three times already…. anyway…

FO: stripe-tac-ular sleeve

pattern stats:
3rd nakniswemodo
raveled here.
Started March 1 2009
Completed March 8 2009 (I don’t know how, it just flew. I was compelled. Had to see what color came next and if I would have enough yarn.)
Needle’s US 7 (4.5 mm) for the ribbing and US 8 (5.0 mm) for the body.
Yarn- Main Color 2.9 skeins Naturally Hand Knit Harmony 8 Ply (purchased on sale at Natural Stitches)
2.84 Noro Silk Garden Colorway 232 (purchased at Knit Happens in Alexandria, Virginia 4 years ago)
Notes:  Should have added more shaping. It’s a little boxy. This was the first time I have ever used a jog-less stripe technique, so of course I thought it was best to you know, learn on a sweater. Not handwarmers, or a hat. Next time (yes there will be a next time, even though there are times I find the stripes a bit intoxicating cute) I’m going to put the color change right after the right shoulder’s raglan marker. Where the k1 is, before the increase. So the jog is right under my arm, and a little more hidden. Yes, it does bother me a bit that is so visible on the back, the sleeves as you can see are better. But I’m a nit picky PITA. However, I still love the STRIPES!

my photographer and I

PS. Happy Pi day tomorrow! We’re going to measure round stuff and have pot pie’s for dinner and chocolate pie for dessert.
PPS I have another obsession. Had to get this design outta my head!
PPPS see the new bed pillows? They have a story too, and I know as soon as Mike sees them I know he’s going to sigh and say more pillows? hehehe. (Hopefully soon I’ll have a headboard for my bed, its way to hard to find a headboard for a California king!)

12 responses

  1. Pingback: striped blue and yellow vest for my boy « Mistress Stash Enhancer

Leave a comment